by fredd13
Sorry to plug a question that's been somewhat done to death, but I'm still unclear about how rerolls work when it comes to actions such as the Bald Eagle's "gain all fish in the birdfeeder". And if this has been officially answered elsewhere in this forum, I apologise.Are the following sequences both legal, or not? And if not, why not?
Sequence One:
The birdfeeder contains two fish.
1) I pick up the first fish.
2) There's only one die left, which I'm definitely entitled to gain, but I could really do with more, so I chance my luck and reroll (and pick up any fish which result).
My own interpretation would be: LEGAL.
Pretty clear-cut. I'm going to gain food, and the dice are eligible to reroll, so under the "at any time" portion of the rules on rerolling, I can reroll.
Sequence Two:
The birdfeeded contains a single fish and a rodent.
1) I pick up the fish.
2) There's only one die left. It's not a fish, but the dice are eligible for a reroll, so I reroll (and pick up any fish which result).
My own interpretation would be: NOT LEGAL.
This is the tricky one. My triggered action allows me to gain the first die (the fish), but I always gain food one die at a time, so once I've take the first one, I can't attempt to gain more food under my triggered action unless there's still at least one fish present in the birdfeeder. There isn't, so I can't carry on attempting to gain food. And if I can't attempt to gain food, I can't reroll.
Is that correct?
Note that either sequence, if legal, potentially allows me to gain an infinite number of fish - because it's perfectly possible (if improbable) that a reroll will produce a result which allows me to repeat the configuration (or one equivalent to it) that allowed me to reroll in the first place - giving me the chance of a further reroll, at which the same may happen. And so on.